Your browser is old and is not supported. Upgrade for better security.

Blues vs Waratahs Live Stream Super Rugby - 06 Apr 2019

on Apr 6 2019

The Blues are making their way to Canberra for their clash against the Waratahs.

Blues vs Waratahs Live Stream


The reigning champions recently beat the Sunwolves in a very nerve-wrecking match last week. It was a close call when the teams went into the half-time break at 14-5. Ten minutes into the second half the Sunwolves had further cut the deficit to 14-11. The Blues ultimately luckily managed to win 33-11.Waratahs team and injury newsHead Coach Dan McKellar made two changes for the big match.The Waratahs will be without Australian flanker David Pocock for the encounter with the dynamic flanker ruled out of action due to a calf strain.The absence of Pocock has forced a reshuffle in the Waratahs backrow with Lachlan McCaffrey, Rob Valetini and Ben Hyne also all unavailable for selection. Blake Enever will therefore slot into the No. 6 jersey with Tom Cusack moving to the other side of the scrum.There’s one other change to the team that started against the Jaguares at the same venue last Sunday, with centre Andrew Smith beginning his first Super Rugby match since the Quarter Final clash against the Hurricanes at GIO Stadium last year.There are four changes amongst the replacements from the squad that faced the Argentinians with prop Ben Alexander in line to win his 148th cap, should he take to the field. Youngster Faalelei Sione is the other front-row replacement.Lolo Fakaosilea is set for his first Super Rugby action since the match against the Chiefs in Hamilton in Round 17 last season, whilst Andy Muirhead is named in place of Smith on the bench as Kyle Godwin drops out of the match day squad.In the starting XV, Isi Naisarani continues in the backrow alongside Enever and Cusack. Carter is partnered at lock by Rory Arnold, with the front-row of Scott Sio, Folau Fainga’a and Allan Alaalatoa unchanged.Behind the scrum, Joe Powell and Wharenui Hawera continue as the half-back pairing with Smith joined in the centre by Tevita Kuridrani. Out wide Chance Peni, Henry Speight and Tom Banks will aim to provide the thrust and pace to trouble
the Blues defence.Waratahs co-captain Sam Carter will play his
100th Waratahs Super Rugby match on Saturday evening.Waratahs: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Andrew Smith, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Blake Enever, 5 Sam Carter (c), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott SioSubstitutes: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Faalelei Sione, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Andrew MuirheadBlues team and injury newsAccording to their website, head Coach Scott Robertson has made seven changes to his team from the side that took the field against the Sunwolves last weekend.In the forwards, Codie Taylor returns to the starting line-up in place of injured hooker Ben Funnell, and Andrew Makalio will once again provide cover on the bench.Sam Whitelock returns this week to partner Scott Barrett at lock, and will resume the captaincy, while Heiden Bedwell-Curtis and Jordan Taufua return to the loose forward trio in the No. 6 and No. 8 jerseys respectively.At halfback, Bryn Hall joins the starting side this week and Mitch Drummond takes a spot on the bench. Seta Tamanivalu will start on the left wing on Saturday night in place of his nephew, Manasa Mataele, who moves to the reserves for this game.The midfield combination of Ryan Crotty and Tim Bateman remains unchanged, and Israel Dagg will once again start on the right wing following his successful return to play last weekend.David Havili completes the line-up this week at fullback in place of George Bridge – with both players having played the most minutes of anyone in the team this season.Blues: 15 David Havili, 14 Israel Dagg, 13 Tim Bateman, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Seta Tamanivalu, 10 Mike Delany, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Jordan Taufua, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Sam Whitelock (c), 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Tim PerrySubstitutes: 16 Andrew Makalio, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Michael Alaalatoa, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Pete
Samu, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Mitch Hunt, 23 Manasa MataeleKick-off
timeSaturday, 28 April, 11:45 (SAST).TV & Live StreamSuper Sport 1
(subscription required) at 11:40 (SAST).